Chateau Paveil de Luze is one of the oldest properties in the Medoc. There have been six generations of owners since the 19th century. Its history presents a fascinating family saga, whose various characters have shown great passion for the property and have all left their mark. Paveil's vineyard dates from the 17th century and belonged to the Lords of Bretonneau until the end of the 18th century. During the reign of Louis XV, one of the family married a daughter of the Chevalier de Rauzan. In 1862, Baron Alfred de Luze bought the magnificent 120 hectare estate and established an international reputation for its wines, particularly in the United States where his brother, Louis-Philippe, was responsible for their distribution. The Siberian winter of 1956 destroyed a substantial part of the vineyard, but in 1960 Baron Geoffroy de Luze decided to restore the property to its former glory. The gradual rejuvenation process required method and patience, with a replanting of the vines, new vats and a renovation of the winery.